Molecular Biophysics faculty are drawn from the departments of Applied Physiology, Biology, Biomedical Engineering, Chemistry and Biochemistry, Mechanical Engineering, and Physics.


Ed Balog, Applied Physiology

Studies of intracellular ion channels known as ryanodine receptors (RyRs). These proteins are the primary efflux pathway for the release of calcium from the sarcoplasmic reticulum.

ed.balog@ap.gatech.edu 404-894-3957


Bridgette Barry, Chemistry & Biochemistry
Director, Molecular Biophysics Training Program

Biological electron transfer, membrane biophysics, DNS synthesis, peptide maquettes, vibrational spectroscopy, EPR spectroscopy, photosynthesis.

bridgette.barry@chemistry.gatech.edu 404-385-6085


Jennifer Curtis, Physics

Investigation of the structure, mechanics and function of the pericellular coat and hyaluronan‐protein macromolecular assemblies; the mechanics of phagocytosis using biophysical and nanopatterning tools.

jennifer.curtis@physics.gatech.edu 404-894-8839


Robert M. Dickson, Chemistry & Biochemistry

Single molecule spectroscopy, fluorophore design and utilization in materials and biology, laser spectroscopy and dynamics, nanoparticle synthesis and photophysics, biolabeling, superresolution and high‐sensitivity optical microscopy.

robert.dickson@chemistry.gatech.edu 404-894-4007


Mostafa A. El-Sayed, Chemistry & Biochemistry

Nanoscience: synthesis and study of the properties of nanomaterial of different shapes, nanotechnology: potential use of nanoparticles in: a) nanomedicine: diagnostics and selective photothermal therapy of cancer, b) nanocatalysis: shape dependence in cage effects.

melsayed@gatech.edu 404-894-7452


Christoph J. Fahrni, Chemistry & Biochemistry

Development and application of cation‐selective fluorescent probes for biophotonics. Study of metal‐ion distribution and subcellular localization in live cells by x‐ray fluorescence microscopy.

fahrni@chemistry.gatech.edu 404-894-2295



JC Gumbart, School of Physics
Assistant Professor

Molecular dynamics simulations of membrane-protein insertion and function at both the inner and outer bacterial membranes, bacterial cell wall dynamics and growth, nascent-peptide-ribosome interactions.

Rigoberto Hernandez, Chemistry & Biochemistry

Analytic and computational approaches in nonequilibrium statistical mechanics to understand the structure and dynamics within and between proteins.

Hernandez@chemistry.gatech.edu 404-894-0594


Nicholas V. Hud, Chemistry & Biochemistry

Elucidation of the fundamental chemical and physical principles that govern nucleic acid assembly at multiple scales, from cation‐mediated RNA folding in the ribosome to the organization of DNA in viruses and bacterial cells.

hud@chemistry.gatech.edu 404-385-1162


Harold Kim, Physics, Biology

Quantitative understanding of transcription‐factor activated gene expression in eukaryotic cells with emphasis on the role of nucleosome position/energetics and threedimensional organization of the genome in gene regulation. Fluorescence microscopy of live cells and single molecules.

harold.kim@physics.gatech.edu 404-894-0080


Raquel Lieberman, Chemistry & Biochemistry

Protein crystallography, enzymology, biophysics, chemical biology and in silico modeling to elucidate the structure, function and mechanism of enzymes that perform hydrolysis reactions in an unusual chemical environment within or at the surface of the lipid bilayer of a cell.

raquel.lieberman@chemistry.gatech.edu 404-385-3663


Nael McCarty, Emory School of Medicine, Biology, Chemistry and Biochemistry

Biophysical approaches to understand the structure, function, and regulation of plasma membrane ion channels and receptors.

namccar@emory.edu 404-727-1327


Christine Payne, Chemistry & Biochemistry

Development and use of fluorescence microscopy to image intracellular dynamics. Specific systems of interest include the transport of extracellular cargo and nanoparticle‐cell interactions.

christine.payne@chemistry.gatech.edu 404-385-3125





Amit R. Reddi, Chemistry & Biochemistry

Biophysical and biochemical characterization of cellular transition metal trafficking, metalloproteins and metalloproteomes, placing an emphasis on systems relevant to cancer, neurodegenerative disorders, and infectious diseases.

amit.reddi@chemistry.gatech.edu 404-385-1428



Ingeborg Schmidt-Krey, Biology, Chemistry & Biochemistry

Structure of eukaryotic membrane proteins and membrane protein complexes by electron crystallography.

ingeborg.schmidt-krey@biology.gatech.edu 404-385-0286


C. David Sherrill, Chemistry & Biochemistry, Computational Science & Engineering

Quantum mechanical models of electronic structure used to obtain reliable binding energies and substituent effects for non‐covalent interactions in nucleic acids and between protein side‐chains.

sherrill@gatech.edu 404-894-4037


Jeffrey Skolnick, Biology, Chemistry & Biochemistry, Computational Science & Engineering

Computational biology.

jeffrey.skolnick@biology.gatech.edu 404-407-8975


Todd Sulchek, Mechanical Engineering, Bioengineering

Bioengineering and microelectromechanical systems: atomic force microscopy, pathogen adhesion and endocytosis, cell biomechanics, single molecule biophysics, drug delivery and targeting, biosensors.

todd.sulchek@me.gatech.edu 404-385-1887


Roger Wartell, Biology, Physics

Mechanism of protein facilitated sRNA regulation of mRNA expression; assembly and stability of RNA structures

roger.wartell@biology.gatech.edu 404-894-8421


Loren D. Williams, Chemistry & Biochemistry

Experimental and informatic approaches to determining and characterizing nucleic acid structures, and the forces that govern the structures.

loren.williams@chemistry.gatech.edu 404-894-9752


Cheng Zhu, Biomedical Engineering, Bioengineering

Biomechanics of cell adhesion and signaling molecules of the immune system and the vascular systems.

cheng.zhu@me.gatech.edu 404-894-3269